Shop Artisan Crafts and Eats

Trinity Crafts, Photo Credit: Kathy Stacy

The following locations are spots where product is being made right here in Trinity and the Artisans themselves, can often be found for a chat.

Mirabella by Elizabeth Burry Studios

Mirabella Jewlery Shop
Photo Courtesy of Elizabeth Burry

A seaside shop run by artist and jewelry maker Elizabeth Burry. Mirabella specializes in original art, Elizabeth Burry Jewelry and the pieces of other well known jewelry makers throughout Canada 

Aunt Sarah’s Chocolate Shop

Adam and Sarah left their lives in Toronto to run a chocolate shop in the small town of Trinity.  Be sure to stop by for a bag (or 2 or 3) of these amazing chocolates or for a cup of Italian Hot Chocolate with Roasted Marsh Mellows.  

Additional Links: Video: Trinity Chocolate Maker

Aunt Sarah's Chocolate Shop

Trinity Mercantile Coffee

From time to time you may notice a certain toasty aroma wafting through the air in Trinity.  When this happens it means that Ian White is roasting a fresh batch of coffee beans for his various blends of Trinity Mercantile Coffee.  Sip a cup in his shop while enjoying the salmon he smokes in-house, or purchase a bag as a souvenir from your trip.

Trinity Mercantile Coffee Shop

The Cooperage

One of the various historic sites of Trinity (This site does require a pass from the visitor centre), The Cooperage is where you will find Lester Cooper working away to produce traditional fisherman’s lunch boxes, children’s toys and practical items like wooden door stops.   

The Craft Shop at the Lester Garland Building

While located in one of the Trinity Historic Sites, visitors may go straight to the craft shop without purchasing a historic sites pass. This shop is careful to carry item only made in Newfoundland including soaps, spices, art and select items from the Forge and Cooperage.  

Sweet Rock Ice Cream

View of Trinity Harbour and town

Located in the area of Trinity known as Hog’s Nose, Sweet Rock Ice Cream not only offers one of the best views in Trinity, but decadent ice cream made from local ingredients.  If you are Lactose intolerant you can enjoy their sorbet of the day.  

Hiscock House – Trinity Crafts

Locally knit sweaters, hats, mitts and even teddy bears line the shelves of this shop.  These items are sure to keep you warm when standing on the windy cliff trying to catch a glimpse of a whale or puffin.

The Green Family Forge

The Green Family Forge does come with an entrance fee, however, it is well worth a visit.  This is not just a historic site, but a living museum where our two local and professionally trained blacksmith make coat hooks, pot racks, candle holders and more.  Some of these items are available at the Lester Garland Building Craft Shop which can be entered without paying the historic sites entrance fee.

Coat hooks and candle holders made in the forge
Marieke Gow Photography

Historic Sites



We have an entire page dedicated to the historic sites of Trinity, all within walking distance of Artisan Inn accommodations.  Sites include:

The Lester Garland Building
The Hiscock House
The Green Family Forge
The Ryan Shop
The Trinity Museum
The Court House/Wooden Boat Museum
The Cooperage
St. Paul’s Church and the Holy Trinity Church

Visit our page HISTORIC SITES IN TRINITY to learn more.


A laundry line is hung with clothing from the 19th century with a square green house in the background

Random Passage Site   

Ok, this is not a historic site, but instead, a movie set from the mini-series Random Passage.  It does, however, offer visitors the chance to understand the struggle many of the first Newfoundland settlers faced when they arrived on this barren isolated land from England and Ireland and what early settlements would have looked liked including the church, schoolhouse, and the disparity between the houses of the well-off and those who struggled to survive the winter.

Additional Links

Random Passage on Eastlink’s Discover NL


Port Union Museum

Port Union National Historic District

Port Union is the only union-built town in North America. Construction began on the shores of Trinity Bay, Newfoundland, in 1916. Within five years, a busy and modern union town bordered the protected deep-water harbour-all made possible through the hard work and vision of the members of the Fishermen’s Protective Union (the FPU) and their first leader, William Ford Coaker.

To learn more about the Union Town, visit the Factory and The Bungalow

Additional Links

Trip Advisor Reviews


Home from the sea, Sealer’s Memorial Museum

The great sealing disasters of 1914 contributed greatly to the loss of a generation soon to be devastated by World War I. In remembering these men, Home from The Sea presents the historical and cultural context of sealing in Newfoundland and Labrador through seven captivating visitor experiences.  Learn more by visiting the linked website.

Sealer’s Memorial Statue

Situated on Porter’s Point, facing the sea and looking back toward home, rests the bronze statue of father and son Reuben and Albert John Crewe, residents of Elliston who perished out on the ice in the 1914 SS Newfoundland sealing disaster. Created by acclaimed sculptor Morgan MacDonald, it sits as a poignant reminder not only of great loss but of the remarkable ties that bind families together in places where going to work and coming Home from the Sea is never a guarantee. It stands to represent all sealers who have risked and lost their lives in their efforts to support their families and communities. Learn more by visiting the linked website.


The Ryan Premises

A salty scent lingers within the cluster of white, 19th century clapboard buildings of the Ryan Premises, perched on the shore of Bonavista’s historic and picturesque harbour. Hear the reminiscences of the site’s interpreters, most of whom have a personal connection to the fishing industry; marvel at the variety of artifacts in the on-site Bonavista Museum; and explore the internationally-recognized “Cod, Seals and Survivors” exhibition that tells the 500-year story of Canada’s east coast fishery.

Matthew Legacy Centre

500 years after John Cabot first arrived in Newfoundland, both Bristol and Newfoundland marked the monumental event by recreating the voyage in 1997. A replica of Cabot’s ship, The Matthew, sailed across the Atlantic and landed at Bonavista’s shores and was greeted by hundreds of on-lookers, including Queen Elizabeth II.  The Matthew Legacy Centre was built to house the ship and visitors can tour the boat and learn more about Cabot.

Additional Links:

Video: A Voyage Across the Atlantic on a Replica of The Matthew – History Channel

Bonavista Lighthouse

Cape Bonavista Lighthouse was constructed in 1843 and is currently restored to the 1870s period. The highlight of the lighthouse is an original catoptric light mechanism that dates to 1816. An adjacent interpretation centre features exhibits on lighthouse technology and lightkeepers’ lives.

Additional notes: Some of the site summaries are copied directly from the websites of those sites and are not the original content of the Artisan Inn and Twine Loft.